Imaginarium

All that we see or seem is but a dream within a dream.  Haunted mothballs at the back of the closet in a thriller movie.  The gate banging in the wind, the cat knocking over a tin can in the garden.

Are wildflowers a sign of flourishing or neglect?  Tears of rain fall tepid on loamy earth, for all the more wildflowers to shudder on through.  Hedera helix and gypsophila, heliotropium and gerbera, taraxacum and papava.

The Latin for creator is creator.  My smock bears witness to my satisfying failures, for it’s the process that woos me more.  Liaisons with a passing muse.  An overdose of music to free the cerebellum, such a pleasant scattering.

A clumpy padlock on a bridge by the harbour, a beautiful installation by accidental artists.  Infused with desire to mark a love, its hereness of, some dissipating, some enduring.  What funny little spells we cast for a magic that’s a rebellious bird.

The moon’s wax spills over into the eighth house of discovery.  Writing thought pennies on virtual paper.  Beautiful when an old dream is, by chance, resurrected.  A breakfast of musings, the sly music of silence.  It’s not a thriller movie when you’re the director.  At least not for you. *wink*

© N Nazir 2024

*Poetic prose, prose poem or vignettes disguised as lyrical non-fiction?  

*Written for Shay’s Word Garden List where I have used all the words, a challenge I accepted from esteemed fellow blogger Dora, who believed I could so I did (except for neglect instead of neglected, you’ll have to let that slide! ☺️). The link is live till next Monday to take part.

*Written using inspiration from this week’s dVerse Prosery prompt: All that we see or seem is but a dream within a dream (Edgar Allan Poe). Shared for dVerse Open Link Night.

42 thoughts on “Imaginarium

  1. Sherry Marr

    Wow! You used all the words, and brilliantly. I especially admire “What funny little spells we cast for a magic that’s a rebellious bird.” Wonderfully done!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. fireblossom32

    Ah, I might have known Dora would be behind this bit of mischief. Wtg, Dora! And wtg Sunra, using all the words, even though not required, and of course the Word List Board of Governors–an august bunch if there ever was one–has agreed to endorse the neglect/neglected thing. Clumpy padlocks make me think of Magritte’s melting clocks. Heaven knows, anything goes. And the Cranberries! One of my favorite bands. Dolores O’Riordan is missed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha ha! Thanks Shay! I’m glad the Word List Board of Governors let me off 😂. Do you mean Dali’s clocks? You are astute because I very nearly called this piece The Persistence of Memory after that painting! And RIP Dolores 🩷 Love the Cranberries.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. fireblossom32

        Ah yes, Magritte was the one with the bowler hats and apples. Dali had the clocks. Hedgewitch would have known! I am a blundering bimbo!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lisa! Yes, I know, I only used it for inspiration, I wasn’t trying to fulfil the brief at all (it’s well over 144 words). Appreciate you sharing your thoughts, I’m glad you found it dream-like 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for inviting me into your Imaginarium, Nina. I enjoyed your prose poem with all of its images and metaphors, especially the ‘haunted mothballs at the back of the closet in a thriller movie’, and the ‘clumpy padlock on a bridge by the harbour, a beautiful installation by accidental artists’ reminded me of a bridge in Wroclav and memories of a trip there.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so impressed that you used all of the words, first of all, and also that you used the words to create such beautiful imagery! I especially liked these lines:

    ” Beautiful when an old dream is, by chance, resurrected.  A breakfast of musings, the sly music of silence.  It’s not a thriller movie when you’re the director.  At least not for you. *wink*”. I especially like the idea of a dream being resurrected. We can all hope for this. Smiles. And who knows if our life is a’thriller movie’ in someone else’s eyes. Smile again! Bravo for good writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your close reading and delightful thoughtful comments, Mary! ❤️ I’m so pleased those lines resonated with you! I very much enjoyed writing them ☺️

      Like

  5. I so enjoyed this! What I so dig about it, aside from your fabulous imagery and phrasing (but I will get to those in a moment), is how each section of your prose could stand alone, and then your last refers back to your first, looping it all together splendidly. And now back to your imagery and phrasing–I just kept smiling more and more as I read, as it seemed to me they just kept getting increasingly better though I don’t know how! I totally get the process being the wooing factor in creating! The last three sections are my favorite, but I won’t quote my favorite lines back to you, but just leave it at saying I thought they were marvelous.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Jennifer, for your wonderful comment and feedback ❤️ I am so pleased you enjoyed it and feel the write works well as a whole. I feel honoured. Readers like you keep me writing!

      Like

  6. “Writing thought pennies on virtual paper.” I love the way you express yourself. I wouldn’t have guessed this was a prompt of “using specific words”, It just flows so nicely.

    I love the Cranberries 

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Really, really like that style, touch of stream of conscious, touches of many things, in “wild flower” style…so lovely that the line is implanted..”.Are wildflowers a sign of flourishing or neglect?*……my goodness how brilliant…and…is this poem a sign of blooming, blosoming ideas, or just letting them run astray without a care?

    Loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ain!!! How are you? So good to see you back and posting. I hope you are safe and well? I’d love to know how it’s all going. I’ll drop by your blog soon ☺️👍

      Thank you for your lovely thoughtful comments, my friend! Glad you enjoyed it 🙌

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Helen

    “it’s the process that woos me more” ~ I love how you phrased this line, getting caught up is something that prevents me from moving forward more often than I like to admit. This Wordlist Poem is remarkable, truly.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Well, you took up the challenge to use all 20 words and rocketed it to the stars in a blinding blaze, Nina! Absolutely engrossing, each thought spurring on another in cinematic imagery and luminous musings. What more can I say?! I LOVED this prose poem.🥰❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Dora! 🥰 You’re very kind calling it all those things!! I’m pleased you enjoyed it. I couldn’t resist the challenge after you did the same! Thank you, my friend and muse! 🤩🩷

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment