A Sonnet of Sorts #NaPoWriMo

Write a sonnet, they said.  I’m on it, I said.
Except today it seems I have nothing to say,
nothing of substance anyway.  I’ve been travelling.
again from city to city, sometimes this is how 
my writing gets done.  But now it’s too hard
to concentrate because the walls are paper thin 
and the couple next door are making love again 
and they’ve been at it quite a while now.  Still, 
I think it’s sweet that they’re trying to be quiet 
because they know the walls cannot disguise
every knocking groan and sigh, and I can surely
hear them but in truth, it doesn’t bother me
except for the fact I have to write a sonnet
when I really haven’t anything to say.

© N Nazir 2024

NaPoWriMo Prompt 27: to write an “American sonnet.” What’s that? Well, it’s like a regular sonnet but . . . fewer rules? Like a traditional Spencerian or Shakespearean sonnet, an American sonnet is shortish (generally 14 lines, but not necessarily!), discursive, and tends to end with a bang, but there’s no need to have a rhyme scheme or even a specific meter. Here are a few examples:

If you’d like more specific instructions for how to get started, Write 253 has a great “formula” prompt for an American sonnet, which you can find here.

*you could definitely say my sonnet ended with a bang.

25 thoughts on “A Sonnet of Sorts #NaPoWriMo

  1. Dear Sunra:

    I was never really bothered
    With prompts,
    But your sort of sonnet,
    Its sweet couplings
    Of words and animations
    Has me rocking
    To its downbeat rhythm,
    A sort of smooching
    In the park on a Sunday afternoon,
    Thinking, watching the world!
    I had nothing to say
    Until your verse came along,
    And there you were, waiting,
    At the end of my line.

    Ashley

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment